Photo Coleslaw

Lessons from 2009

with one comment

Did I say December for updating my blog?  I must have meant January.  Better blogging is on my resolution’s list.  A list filled with concepts like: set business plan to paper, develop a concrete marketing plan and check into rudimentary ballast.    Or something like that.

Seriously though, big plans for the blog this year.  This month will mark the first installment of GuestSlaw, a series of interviews throughout the year delving into the techniques and thoughts of several well-known photographers.  We may even discover a few hamsters in their closets while we’re at it.  Anything goes, it’s wild and crazy over here at the ‘slaw factory.

As the first blog of the year, I wanted to reflect back on 5 pictures I learn from in the last year. Probably shot around 10,000 frames in 2009, but these are a few of the ones that have a message I’ll remember.

1. His shirt was pressed so crisply it could have stood up proudly on it’s own and ordered a pulled pork sandwich.  His smile belied a firm handshake.  His name was Marvin and he was a Clarksdale, MS contractor.   He’s a big believer in people having dreams and following them…. living in a constant state of moving forward.  Marvin reminded me of why I take pictures.  To meet people like him.

2. I’ve never met a bayou that I didn’t want to photograph.   I’m never going to meet a bayou I want to swim in.

3. As much as it pains me to note, every once in a while a picture belongs in color.

4. The straight picture is never as interesting to me as the ambiguous one.

5.   I wish they sold those blinders they put on donkeys for human use.  You know the ones that keep ’em from getting spooked. I shot this picture on a day when I was frustrated with my photography and it reminded me that you never know when your next favorite might come along.  That this job comes with a lot of distractions, but in the end, sometimes it’s just as easy as keeping your eyes faced forward and pushing a button.

As Colin Hay sings, “I watch the sun as it comes up, I watch it as it sets.  Yeah, this is as good as it gets.  My, my, my it’s a beautiful world.”

Ahem.

Here’s to 20-10….

Written by Spelman

01/05/2010 at 8:24 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent article and photographs. Thank you.

    Sharon

    Sharon Van Lieu

    01/17/2010 at 10:41 am


Leave a Reply

