Photo Coleslaw

A Steinway for a Hasselblad?

with one comment

I was listening to this beautiful piano earlier today.  The kind of music that is almost haunting because it’s so full of soul and vulnerability. I allowed the music to no longer float through the background, but to become my focus. For a moment it was like I had my own personal soundtrack. Listening, I wondered if I would trade being a photographer to be able to play like that

The ironic part is, the answer was within the question.

I want to make images that could stop a musician and make him wonder if he would trade his ability to play to make images like that….

No matter whether you are speaking in terms of tonal range or tones of gray, art is an expression of connection and vulnerability.  We’re all on the same ride.

This last weekend I had the opportunity to work with some phenomonal Santa Fe dancers from the 3HC BBoy/Girl group.  It’s always a blast to shoot people who are uninhibited in front of the camera – thanks 3HC.


Written by Spelman

01/23/2010 at 12:11 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice! You have definitely developed depth in your voice!

    Ed Hamlin

    01/23/2010 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

